A Book That Changed The Way I Look At Creativity

Austin Kleon’s words gave me comfort when I doubted my creativity

Shreya Badonia 🧨

--

Resting (ca. 1880–1890) by John Singer Sargent. Original from The National Gallery of Art. Digitally enhanced by Rawpixel.

Last week, I pondered about what I am doing with my life.

As a creative person with multiple facets of creativity, I go through these lows every once in a while.

I make art. I write. I design. I paint. I create content. I do a bunch of creative things, and I enjoy doing all of them without any compulsion.

I have been creating content on various platforms for a long time but haven't really had my moment of glory. The kind of virality that’d change my life or at least show me a clear route where I can use all my creativity and offer something unique to the world.

I was questioning myself, my process, my art, and my creativity.

I thought maybe it’s time I take a break from all of these. But luckily, I stumbled upon Steal Like An Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative by Austin Kleon.

Source: Goodreads

The book spoke to my soul, and it changed my mind about creativity and even life. Not creating is not a solution to our creativity-related…

--

--

Shreya Badonia 🧨

Multi-passionate creator | visual thinker living an island life 🏝️ Join my weekly newsletter 📣 https://shreyasls.substack.com/